Dear Principal Nobles,

First off, I’d like to congratulate you on your promotion to Principal at the best high school/learning institution in Okaloosa County and in the State of Florida.  As a former Eagle, I pride myself in my alma mater and everything I do in life, I know was built on the relationships, knowledge, and foundations set forth by Niceville High.  I love being an Eagle, and that is why I am writing you about one of the greatest Eagles NHS ever had grace it’s halls.  Kelly McHugh was the be all, end all for not only Niceville Ladies Soccer, she was also a terrific academic student and fierce friend.  Unfortunately, we lost Kelly earlier this month.  Her family feels the strain of losing their daughter everyday and her friends feel it just as much.  Kelly was amazing in everything that she did.  Whether it would be organizing an event at her house to prevent kids from underage drinking, being a very active member in the community through Key and EN, or establishing her Legend status by helping NHS win a State Championship in Ladies Soccer.  I can still remember Kelly in 3rd period Economics our senior year correct someone by saying, “It isn’t Girls Soccer, it’s ladies Soccer.  We win and we win with Class.”  That was Kelly through and through.  The most caring individual I know just so happened to be the greatest Ladies Soccer player in NHS’ history.  Her name was Kelly McHugh. 

Principal Nobles, I was hoping that with your valuable time you would read what I wrote to you about Kelly and about how much she meant to not only the class of 2002 but to Niceville High School as well.  Kelly, like myself, loved being an Eagle.  In this day and age her Facebook profile picture album featured her going around the world in her NHS Soccer hoodie.  That is why I wrote you today.  I am formally requesting that you and the NHS board consider renaming the soccer practice field across John Sims Pkwy, “Kelly McHugh Field”.  I know that there is plenty of red tape with things like this.  But I can’t think of something more fitting for someone more deserving.  I don’t make this request simply because I miss my friend or the fact that I want to do something for her, I do this because I am an Eagle and I honor all my Eagles.  I make this request to you because Kelly McHugh was not only proud of being an Eagle, but because she might’ve been one of the greatest Eagles of all-time.

If there is anything I can do to facilitate something like this or questions I can answer.  Please let don’t hesitate to contact me at [email protected] or 850-517-6847.  As an honor to Kelly, I’d love to handle this matter and bankroll it if need be. 

Thank you again for your time.

Always an Eagle,

J. Christopher Hoffman

c/o 2002

Cristin Byrne
7/1/2013 05:53:40 am

I always knew Kelly to be proud, strong, and respectful. Renaming the field in her honor is something I would have no problem supporting.

Reply
Kevin Cook
7/1/2013 10:23:15 am

As someone who has shed blood sweat and tears on those fields alongside Kelly for countless hours of our young lives, I can't think of anyone more deserving of the honor

Reply
Megan Tutin
7/1/2013 05:19:21 pm

I knew Kelly since we were three when we started playing soccer together! We were captains together our senior year in 2002. I think this NEEDS to be done. Anything I can help to facilitate, I am on it! She was an inspiration and I can think of no better way to honor her.

Reply
Adam J. Warrenfells
7/7/2013 03:01:12 pm

I cannot claim to have known her very well, but I can say that she was a kind person. Many people at the school loved her for who she was.

I support this motion. This needs to be done.

Reply
Lisa Pearson
7/1/2016 08:11:09 am

I think this is an awesome idea ! I had the pleasure of playing soccer with Kelly, also class of 2002...she was a phenomenal team player and we relied on her every single game to winot an keep the team together..she never let us quit !! Rip baby girl

Reply



Leave a Reply.